Home » Bihar, Current, Election Buzz, Election Time » Fourth phase Bihar assembly polls on Monday

Fourth phase Bihar assembly polls on Monday

All set to go : Fourth phase polls

The Congress is contesting from all 42 constituencies while the BSP is in the fray from 40 seats. The CPI-ML (L) is contesting 15 seats, CPI (13) and CPI-M (six).

While JD(U) is contesting from 25 seats, ally BJP is contesting in the remaining 17. RJD has fielded candidates in 26 and ally LJP in 16.

Prominent contestants include BJP stalwarts and ministers Ashwini Kumar Choubey (Bhagalpur), Nand Kishore Yadav (Patna Sahib), Ramnarayan Mandal (Banka), besides JD(U) minister Damodar Raut.

Senior IAS officer Afzal Amanullah’s wife Parveen Amanullah is contesting on a JD(U) ticket from Sahebpur Kamal while LJP president Ramvilas Paswan’s brother and state party president Pashupati Kumar Paras is contesting from Alauli, and Deputy Speaker of state Assembly and RJD nominee Shakuni Choudhary is contesting from Tarapur.

Of the 42 constituencies spread over eight districts, voting will be held in Alauli (SC), Suryagarha, Tarapur, Jamalpur, Katoria (SC), Belhar, Sinkandra (SC), Jamui, Jhajha and Chakair, declared ‘Maoist-hit’, between 7:00 am and 3:00 pm.

Facts: Fourth phase

Number of assembly constituencies going to polls – 42

Total voters – 10.04 million, (4.67 million women)

Total number of candidates – 568

Total number of woman candidates – 58

Total polling stations: 10,716

© 2010 BiharDays    
   · RSS · ·
%d bloggers like this: